Meade ETX70AT Telescope w/882 Review

Telescopes

PRODUCT DETAILS

 

  • Exclusive multicoated, air-spaced achromatic objective lenses
  • Razor-sharp images of both astronomical and terrestrial subjects
  • Extremely portable at only 6.8 pounds
  • Telescope can be used on any flat surface
  • Meade 882 tripod included

Includes achromatic refractor optical tube assembly (D = 70mm, F = 350mm, f/5) with multi-layer optical coatings; internal flip-mirror system for either straight-through or 90 degree observing position; steel-reinforced ABS fork mount with electric slow motion controls, setting circles, and locks on both axes; electronic control panel; 9-speed (2x sidereal through 4.5 degrees/sec.) dual-axis motor drive system with Autostar computer controller; sidereal-rate tracking; internal battery compartment accepting six (user-supplied) AA-size batteries; MA9mm (39X) and MA25mm (14X) multi-coated eyepieces; Field Tripod; operating instructions.

Telescope Aperture

APERTURE

70mm

Telescope Focal Length

FOCAL LENGTH

350mm

Telescope Motorised

MOTORISED

Yes

Telescope Mount Type

MOUNT TYPE

Alt-Azimuth
4.14.1 out of 5 stars (based on 7 reviews)
Excellent29%
Very good57%
Average14%
Poor0%
Terrible0%
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QCck2Hd_v4

bnpvkb

November 30, 2018

buy cialis soft online buy brand cialis canada http://canadian-pharmacyn.com

fttxwe

hpuuyv

October 28, 2018

buy cialis 20mg is there a generic for cialis http://canadian-pharmacyn.com purchase cialis online canada

aulpqp

Visit Verona on Segway

September 21, 2018

Romeo & Juliette made this town famous for millions of English students, but the city has more than just a balcony and two star crossed lovers. Verona is an amazing town to visit as the Arena still holds concerts ranging from Opera to Pearl Jam and with churches and castles spotted all around is well worth a few nights stay. Experience historic Verona from a unique perspective on a 1-hour Segway tour. Glide through the historic center with a tour leader and informative audio guide. See monuments such as the Arco dei Gavi, Castelvecchio, Porta Borsari and Casa di Giulietta. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6rTkOEJNzU https://www.getyourguide.com/verona-l389/verona-1-hour-historic-tour-by-segway-t92925/?referrer_view_id=a994e4716aa93d7b2532c76f9bf69bf5&referrer_view_position=0&utm_force=0

AngelBarse

The small great Telescope

August 6, 2018

The best.

Hans

Difficult Alignment

May 7, 2018

I bought this telescope as a beginner scope, and my enthusiasm was unfortunately clouded by the very clumsy and (for beginnes) difficult allignment. Although it did not destroy my wish to keep exploring the universe, I must admit that it was a burden for me to invite people over to observe, only to spend looooong time alligning the puppy.I have now invested in a GPS scope also from Meade – LX200R 8″. I have stayed with Meade, since the quality of the telescope (even the ETX70) was very good, and the new GPS setup is really really really cool.Enjoy!!

Martin Almdal

I love this little scope!

May 7, 2018

Just a quick review: Got my refurb’d etx 70 from Scopetronix yesterday. Great folks, by the way. Set it up last night (coincidentally the first clear night in Portland, Or in some time). I’m new to astronomy so my terminology may not be good, but here goes. Did some 24 mm, and 9mm views of the moon-beautiful despite lousy seeing conditions. Turned scope on Saturn -wow! With a 2x Barlow #124 and a 5mm (yeah I know, that’s really pushing it, but I wanted to try) I got an excellent look at Saturn – complete with N/S equatorial bands! I couldn’t believe it. The bands moved in and out of clarity but I’m pretty sure that was sky conditions. I just stood there and giggled like a kid. I love this little scope! The image certainly didn’t fill the eyepiece but that was fine. I did not notice a lot of color distortion, though Saturn had a pale yellowish tinge to it. I’m real curous now as to what the right filters will do for clarity.

Eric Faucher

Good for a first telescope

May 7, 2018

My telescope is a Meade ETX-70, and I’ve had it since April 2003. When I was buying this, my first telescope, I did a lot of research on the internet into what to get (see my equipment guide) and Meade came forward as being very good quality. Although it doesn’t have such a wide aperture, it makes up for it in optical quality.It’s also got motor controlled mounts, so that you can move it very slowly and precisely, and with the ‘Autostar’, the hand-held guider, you can align the telescope so that it can point you at whatever you want to see, and track it, compensating for the Earth’s rotation. It isn’t perfect but is quite good, the object will usually be in view (even if not exactly in the centre) and will stay there for quite a long period of time even on high magnifications. At the back it’s got a port which you can fix your SLR camera onto to take photos with the prime focus method (although the tracking isn’t really good enough to take great prime focus pictures, but I have taken some good afocal images with it.)Saturn’s rings are clearly visible, cloud bands can be seen on Jupiter along with the planet’s four largest moons, and on a very good day (when it passed by very close recently) I was able to see the polar ice caps on Mars. Detail can be seen in the Orion Nebula, and when used on low magnification you can see quite a wide field, with very good resolution. In all, I think it’s an excellent first telescope, and it may even be all you ever need.

Gavin Vincent

We won't spam!